Meet the Team

Pioneer Water Management is led by highly qualified professionals with approximately 100 years of combined energy industry experience.


Todd Abbott, Vice President of Permian Infrastructure Development and Operations 

As part of his role, Todd Abbott serves as President of Permian Water Management. Todd joined Pioneer in 2003 as Senior Analyst, Acquisitions and Divestitures, and then moved to Worldwide Operations. In 2005, he was promoted to Vice President, Corporate Finance. From 2011 to 2013, he served as President of Pioneer’s Alaska division. Todd was also Vice President, Permian Operations from 2013 to August 2014. He was appointed Vice President, Finance and Treasurer in 2014. Prior to working for Pioneer, Todd was a Financial Analyst with Citigroup and an Engineering Consultant with Halff Associates.

Todd has a Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering from Texas A&M and a Master of Business Administration from SMU’s Cox School of Business. In 2013, he was honored as an Outstanding Young Alumnus of SMU.


Nick Hines, Engineering and Construction Manager

Nick Hines joined Pioneer in 2007 and Pioneer Water Management in March 2014. He has 10 years of oil and gas experience and has worked in the Permian Basin, Mid-Continent, Eagle Ford and North Africa producing areas, serving in various operations and facility roles. Prior to joining Pioneer, Hines worked as an operations engineer for three years with Dominion.

Hines received a bachelor of science degree in Petroleum Engineering from Texas Tech University.


Alan Van Reet, Operations Manager

Alan Van Reet has 10 years of experience in operations and engineering of oil and gas surface production facilities, midstream gas processing, nuclear power and the military. He joined Pioneer Water Management in March 2014 and has worked in the Permian Basin, Eagle Ford, Mid-Continent and Tunisia operating areas.

Van Reet has a bachelor of science degree in Systems Engineering from the United States Naval Academy and a master’s in Mechanical Engineering from the Naval Postgraduate School.